World Famous Brighton Fringe Festival May 5th – June 4th

The Brighton Bluebird

Shop

Become a Patron

Help with Crowdfunding

I’ve nearly finished painting The Brighton Bluebird! This is an oil painting on a

31 1/2″ x 23 1/2″ cotton canvas. It is a pastiche of a famous painting by Jack Vettriano, his piece is titled Bluebird at Bonneville. I love this stage of working on a painting, I can see the finished piece in my mind’s eye, just details left to work on. I’m pleased with the colour balance, the composition & the colour values, I think it all works well.

BB Paint web

I like to show work in progress photos:

Below is the drawing of the Bluebird car with the twelve figures standing around it. I swapped Vettriano’s mountainous backdrop for the Famous Victorian Brighton Seafront Arches currently being refurbished.

BB Drawn [2]

Below the first layers of oil paint start to be applied.

BB Paint [1]

Below more layers of oil paint are applied.

BB Paint [2]

I have started to look for a venue to exhibit The Brighton Bluebird for the Festival, I have exhibited at the Brighton Fringe Festival for the last four years consecutively. I have had artwork published in the Argus, which is the principal newspaper for Brighton & hove.

Press Articles

I’m quite a well established artist in Brighton & Hove. The last two years the Argus contacted the Fringe Festival to enquire where I was exhibiting. I live very close to where the painting is set, it’s just at the bottom of the road from where I live.

Below is a photo of my wonderful studio where I live & work, creating all my masterpieces.

Workspace [web]

I am honoured to be partnered with ArtCraft.ie they support artists that have been affected by homelessness & disabilities, feel free to click on the Shop button to browse around ArtCraft.ie we now have Canvas Prints, Fine Art Paper Prints & artwork printed on a wide range of products including mugs, stationery, leggings, duvet covers & more… Prints of The Brighton Bluebird will be available soon from 40 Euros…

Shop

 

Leave a Reply

